First time login redirect

I want to redirect my members to profile edit page at first login.. i saw plugins available for 1.7.x 

but not available for 1.8.3 .. so is there any way so that i can redirect my new members to profile edit page for there first login...

• Not sure if there is a plugin to actually do it but the coding is trivial:

In a plugin's start.php file add the following:

elgg_register_event_handler('login','user','check_first_login');

function check_first_login($login_event, $user_type, $user) {

if($user && $user->last_login == 0) {

forward("PUT URL IN HERE");

}

}

}

• Thanks Trajan let me try it ....

• for redirecting user to profile edit page... in forward("PUT URL IN HERE") I dont know how to give it as.. the url is like this "[base url]/profile/username/edit" for the username how should i get the input of the new user.. I am not a coder so i dont know wat url to put for redirecting users to profile edit page..

Thank you

• for 1.8 i am using this code in my theme

function check_first_login($login_event, $user_type, $user) {
    $user = elgg_get_logged_in_user_entity();
    if($user && $user->last_login == 0) {
    forward('profile/$user->username/edit/');
    }else if($user && $user->prev_last_login == 0) {
    forward('import');
    }else{
    forward('activity');
    }
    }

• not sure what prev_last_login would be if anything. Last login (from guessing) holds a timestamp and updates every time a user logs in.

@Satheesh...is prev_last_login working for you to send users to 'import'?

• @trajan   i just checkd by changing ==0 to !=0

it was working for me...

• last_login is the last time he logged in..
    prev_last_login is the 'previous' (second) (also TS) to the last time he logged in ;-)
    so.. if last == 0 -> he's never logged in
    else if prev_last == 0 -> he's only logged in once
    else he's logged in >= 2x

• In case any one looks at this.