Group based visibility / privacy

Hi everbody! I am new to Ellg and just learning the data model and structure, so please have patience. :)

I am trying to build a social network where users can only see each other if they are in the same group and content should only be visible to the members in the same group, but to all groups the user is in. Quick Example:

3 groups: Mountainbiking, Dancing, Music

4 users: A, B, C,

• A is member of Mountainbiking and Dancing
  • B is member of Dancing and Music
  • C is member of Music
  • D is member of Mountainbiking
  1. A posts something on Wire, B can read it because of group Dancing, D can read it because of group Mountainbiking
  2. C searches for other people and can only find B because of Music
  3. B is looking at the activity feed and only sees activities from A because of Dancing and C because of Music.

So basically, everyone should see everything from members of the same groups. However for non-members the user should be completely invisible, until they join one of their groups. The groups should not be used for discussions, only for creating these privacy and sharing levels. So my questions are: Is this even possible with groups or do I have to take / write another plugin? If so, what kind of approach would you suggest? Do I have to create some kind of new Data Set of Ellg Entity for this? Is there any best practice solution?

Thanks you so much and apologies already, if I oversaw an existing solution!

• By the way, could somebody maybe move this to technical support please? 

• I moved it to the plugin development group.

You would need to develop a custom access system to achieve this kind of functionality. The standard access system has a series of privacy levels (private, friends, logged in users, public). You would have to write something that does this through group membership.