Social Network Site Development

Hi all! 

I have been working on a concept for a social network and in my research have found elgg to be one of resources most recommended and highly rated.  That being said, I am not a developer and expect to hire someone to build the site for me.  As part of my planning, there are a couple of things I would like input on to the extent possible.  

First, as a developer, what information do you need from a client that best helps you execute the project?  Is there a format or such that you have used or been given that offers you the level of detail you need; keeping in mind that I may not know all of the features and plug-ins that are available.  Is there a good way to communicate to a developer what features are needed, so that services can be seperated into what is a currently available feature vs. what may need to be a custom developed application?

I built a prototype based on an iPhone app in Keynote with templates from Keynotopia so I could get a feel of user experience and help me understand what features I think it might need. This is just static pages with hyperlinks that makes it feel like a real app.  As a non-developer, it was a good starting point since once my site is developed, mobile apps would be needed for it to be fully appreciated, though I do understand that the web site needs to be developed first.

Secondly is with regards to understanding what would be a realistic budget.  I know this is a rather open ended request and one that is difficult to answer without details of the project.  What I am interested in is some budgetary cost in terms of different levels of magnitude; i.e. a basic elgg site with minimal plug-ins using readily available themes; something more of a midrange with lots of plug-ins, and something on the larger scale.  Any assistance in helping with some order of magnitude and expectation is certainly appreciated.