Newbie Plugin Developement - Help needed

Hi all,

I am new to ELGG plugin developement. To be more precise I am new to open source arena. I am a Mainframe developer whose life is spent on COBOL and REXX :) .

I am currently trying to create a new plugin for the ELGG users. I had a look on the ELGG tutorials. But it does not help me in any ways. Based on the self study and trial and error method, I have managed to create a basic plugin, which does nothing. (It accepts some settings thru Settings).

I want to override the a particular view in my mod without affecting its current features. How should I do this?

Any links and documents on basic plugin development is welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

• Thanks to Elgg's view system, overriding views of the Elgg core (elgg/views) or the plugins (elgg/mod/pluginname/views) is really easy.

Just copy the view from the original location to the views diectory of your own plugin with the same same name and directory structure and your plugin's view automatically overrides the original view.

The view which is used is defined by the plugin order in the administrator's plugin list. So place your own plugin after the original one in the list. Otherwise your plugin's view won't override the original one.

Example:
    If you want to modify the contents of the blog widget you can copy the file:

elgg/mod/blog/views/default/widgets/blog/content.php

To the views directory of your own plugin:

elgg/mod/yourplugin/views/default/widgets/blog/content.php

And then make the needed modifications to this file.

Here's some more about overriding and extending views (if you haven't already read this):
    http://docs.elgg.org/wiki/Engine/Views 

I hope this was helpful!

• Thanks Juho.

So if I need to modify any file, I should create the same file in the same structure. isn't it?