Access Levels in The Wire

Hello,

Is it possible to add access levels to the posts of the wire?
e.g. I publish a string I only want my friends to see ...

Thanks

• Possible? Yes! Easy? Probably not.

NOTE: Beware - as a programmer, I think pretty much anything is possible.

• yeah .. Of course everything is possible :) But would "it not be very nice" should the designers of ELGG come up with this feature? It is, imho important for privacy ...

Should I want to try to mess with the code. Can anybody give me a pointer as to where to poke in the code?

• elgg174/mod/thewire/actions/add.php
    All you need to know to poke around very precisely is in there...;)
    One line of code to change ;-P

• Great, Thanks Dhrup :) I found the code you were refering to (in 1.7.5) However, there's nothing commented out, so I'd take it I'll have to add lines to the page.

Does anybody has an idea what line that could be? ^^

• Do you really want to be handed the code on a diamond studded golden plate ? ;-) LOLZ - somewhere towards the bottom of that script is one line of code that can be changed for what yew wanna achieve ! You want to use this access level ->

ACCESS_FRIENDS  (-2)

• I wold like a silver plater topped with chocolate molten please ;-)

• before or after "Make Coach/ Recruiter/ etc" lolz ?;-P

• Ah, there we go. I'm sorry Dhrup. My browser code editor stopped viewing the code after if (!isloggedin()) forward();

I guess I'll have to do something with this:
    $access_id = (int)get_default_access(); if ($access_id == ACCESS_PRIVATE) { $access_id = ACCESS_LOGGED_IN; // Private wire messages are pointless }

The idea is to let the users choose who can see this and who can't. So I guess I'll have to go to the "views" page of the add form and add a dropdown menu? I guess I could go look at another post field where the option arrises and implement?