Geo tagging and display for elgg entities

My efforts for creating a geo-social network using elgg, produced the described results.

please note that I am not a programer. I on;y have expirience in setting up elgg's plugins and adding some customisation.

--------------------

I tried two methods, 1) using geolocation by pedro 2) using vazco gmap by mike

There is a third option I coundn't understand 3) using content map by txtan

--------------------

google map by Timothy can be used in all three methods to display the maps as profile/dashboard widgets.

In any case, google maps are used and API key needs to be set up.

I found no plugin or documentation on using open source maps such as open street map.

---------------------

At first I tried Geolocation. It required minimun effort and enabled me to set and view locations for both users and groups.

Unfortunatly the map itslef did not display map or terrain just the maps outline:

To my understanding, google maps should have displayed site's entities on a map using a dashboard\profile widget - but it didn't do so for me.

2) Gmap required other plugins (site access; form and related; content map). the set up took some time, but gave a good opprtunity to discover the other plugins - they are great.

the result was similiar

I still haven't been able to set up geo-social capabilities using elgg.

-----------

I invite you to add and share resources and understandings regarding geo-tagging, geo-social capabilities.. or expanding the mentioned plugins documentations (readme) so that anyone will be able to use them .

I will keep trying and updating, elgg is D best or me.

LOVEPEACE

• Sef, regarding the vazco_gmap plugin:

- if you have any questions related to the plugin, please feel free to ask via PM, on plugin groups or on Elggdev. I will try to answer questions on this post as well.