Major routine error, every day?

Hi all

I'm new to Elgg, and I'm having a major problem that I hope someone can help me with.

Every day there is an error that prevents me (and I assume all 1000 other members) from logging in properly. I get a screen stating an error on line 15 of views/default/friends/river/create.php

The only way I have discovered of getting around this is to //line 15, which then messes up friends connections and how they're displayed.

I then go through replacing the main elgg basic files in batches until it looks like everything is back to normal. But I can't do this EVERY DAY!

Please someone help?

Thanks

• You have a bad entry in your activity river table.

You can find out which one by editing the file you mentioned to this:

$performed_by = get_entity($vars['item']->subject_guid);

if (!$performed_by) {

error_log("River error: bad performed by field: ".$vars['item']->subject_guid." in the river entry with the ID: ".$vars['item']->id);

} else {

// rest of code as usual

}

So instead of just commenting out the line, you can route around only the problem entry and even find out which one it is so that it can be fixed (eg. by deleting the bad record in phpMyAdmin, something I normally don't recommend but probably would be fine in the case of the river table).

• Okay, I've now changed the code to the following:

$performed_by = get_entity($vars['item']->subject_guid);

if (!$performed_by) {

error_log("River error: bad performed by field: ".$vars['item']->subject_guid." in the river entry with the ID: ".$vars['item']->id);

} else {

// rest of code as usual

} // $statement->getSubject();
    $performed_on = get_entity($vars['item']->object_guid);
    $url = $performed_on->getURL();

$url = "<a href=\"{$performed_by->getURL()}\">{$performed_by->name}</a>";
    $string = sprintf(elgg_echo("friends:river:add"),$url) . " ";
    $string .= "<a href=\"{$performed_on->getURL()}\">{$performed_on->name}</a>";