Counting forum topic posts by user

Hi, I'm looking to extend the group forum topic view by including the amount of posts a user has made inside the group.

I'm having a little trouble with it. I've seen how the vanilla groups plugin counts annotations for each forum topic, but I'm not sure how to tell elgg that I want to count annotations based on a specific user's guid.

Any help would be appreciated. I can follow simple instructions, but I'm not really a coder.

I've found the following:

$count_annotations = $f->countAnnotations("group_topic_post");

and 

.elgg_echo('groups:posts').": " . $count_annotations . "

Thanks in advance

• Can anyone tell me why this doesn't work?

$count = get_entities("object", "group_topic_post",page_owner_entity()->guid, "", 999999999, 0, true);

if(!$count){

$count=0;

• Ok, I've tried a lot of things. I'm currently looking at something like this.

$post_owner = get_user($vars['entity']->owner_guid);

$count = $post_owner->countAnnotations('group_topic_post');

echo $count;

But I still get the result of 0 no matter how many posts I make. Could it be that it won't display inside itself?

Can anyone help me?

• function list_entities_from_annotations($entity_type = "", $entity_subtype = "", $name = "", $value = "", $limit = 10, $owner_guid = 0, $group_guid = 0, $asc = false, $fullview = true, $viewtypetoggle = false) {

maybe ?;-)

discussions.php -->

// Load Elgg engine
            require_once(dirname(dirname(dirname(__FILE__))) . "/engine/start.php");
            group_gatekeeper(); 
        // Display them
            $area2 = elgg_view_title(elgg_echo("groups:latestdiscussion"));
            set_context('search');
            $area2 .= list_entities_from_annotations("object", "groupforumtopic", "group_topic_post", "", 40, 0, 0, false, true);
            set_context('groups');
            $body = elgg_view_layout("two_column_left_sidebar", '', $area2);

• Thanks Dhrup, very kind of you.

• @T,