Public Access

Please let me apologize in advance for upsetting the taboos that I am undoubtedly upsetting.

I'm a hobbyist.  I have a server machine that I did a clean install of Win 10 Pro ver. 1909.

I'm running WAMP64, 3.2.3, Apache 2.4.46, MySQL 8.0.21, PHP 7.3.21, MariaDB 10.5.4

I can access my sign in page from localhost on the server machine and from the web on the server machine.  However, the sign in page on the server doesn't work, I can't sign in.  I can sign in from localhost.

Also, when I attempt to access the sign in page from another device I get the sign in page apparently but the page is displayed in a simple, left justified test with blue text hyperlinks that don't do anything.  The $64.00 question is what did I do wrong during the installation?

• In these cases, first you need to do is check your server error logs.

Also, don't ask about your problems if you runned Elgg on the localhost.

It's a very different situation instead of hosting.

• "localhost" always refers to the computer you are currently using. If you used "localhost" as site url of your Elgg installation and try to access the site from the same computer the site is installed on it should work. But if you try to access the site from another computer "localhost" refers to this other computer so it does not fully work as the routing can't get resolved correctly.