Event Calendar not sending reminders

I am a novice, a complete layman, worse than a newb. I love Event Calendar except it is not sending out the set reminders. I'm not getting any error messages just no reminders. 

• I guess it has something to do with Cron Jobs. I notice that in the utility tab it says no cron job has ever been executed. Is this something that I was supposed to know how to manually setup at ELGG installation or should it have occurred naturally? I have the message que plugin as specified. I know where the ADD CRON JOB utility is on my Cpanel but I have no idea how to create one.

I am totally lost

If you can help it would be greatly appreciated.

• Rvr I read it before I posted. Still have no idea how to author the code, where to put it on my server. Unfortunately there were a few hundred calendar entries entered before any of us knew that it wasn't sending out notifications. I assumed that the plugin would either tell exactly where and how to place a cron job or say that one should not use it without prior knowledge. I see that that was a poor assumption made partially because of the relative ease of WordPress plugins that did everything themselves.I was spoiled.

I think I may have to lose all that data and try a different social network with an easy to configure calendar. Mea culpa

• The cronjobs are not only to be configured for the Event Calendar plugin but for Elgg itself. That's the reason the configuration is not specifically mentioned in the Event Calendar readme as I just assumed that the Elgg documentation would be used to make the initial configuration of the cronjobs which are to be configured on the server and this could be different on each server depending on its configuration. If you're lost you might want to ask the support of your webhoster how to generally set up cronjobs. With this knowledge the addition of the Elgg-specific jobs should be not too difficult following the instructions in the Elgg documentation.