"Group blog" v. "Group discussion": what's the difference?

I'm relatively new to Elgg, and hope to mount an instance (soon!) for a small educational institution to support courses, where we'll use the "group" functionality for course/module cohorts.

Having played with my test install for some weeks, I'm wondering what the difference is between the "group blog" and "group discussions" features. The only overt difference I can spot is that blogs give you an "excerpt" field, and discussions don't, although discussions gets an auto-excerpt on the group's main page.

(For that matter, the "bookmarks" look just like the "discussions"! For me, it would make sense for these to have a much more "compressed" listing presentation, without all the screen real-estate that the discussion and blog pages have.)

Can anyone enlighten me on what I'm missing? Are there feature distinctions that I'm overlooking? Many thanks!

• You wouldn't have to use all plugins if you think one or even a few are not required for the purpose of your site or if your think they are redundant. It all depends on what kind of postings you expect to get and/or how you want to organize your site. It could be that it makes sense to have different plugins for different kind of postings, if such a distinction makes sense. On the other hand it might make no sense on some sites to provide several different posting channels.

As I see it the blogs are aiming at someone posting some kind of article that is not necessarily expecting replies. Of course, people could reply but it could also stay as it is standing alone. Let's say you would have a site where people post travel reports. Then such a report could be made as a blog posting that might also be a lengthy posting.