Newbie Question - Installation & Template Issues

Hi everyone, thank you for taking the time to read my post. I have searched google and still can't find any exact answers to my questions, so I am hoping someone here may be able to help.

As I mentioned I am really new to elgg but I am impressed with the potential that this software has.

Anyway, last night I was able to get elgg 2.0 working on my computer using xampp with Windows 10 and had no problems. I was able to create a site and become a bit familiar with how elgg works. Now here is where I am running into a problem...

I began downloading a few templates to change the functionality of my site - I am looking to make a wiki-ish page with a lot of information on local hiking trails, where users can rate trails on difficulty and leave comments saying "I hiked here last week, it was nice, etc." I also would like to have a social networking aspect where users can add friends and find hiking buddies in the area.

Anyway, I downloaded several templates and then discovered that most of them were for version 1.X of elgg, and I could not use them with 2.0. I then decided to download the older version (1.12.9) but when I go to install my site, I get this error:

PHP

• Elgg requires the PHP extension mysql.

I have googled and googled and have not been able to figure out how to fix this error!! I have edited the apache config file and uncommented the two lines mentioned in the installation instructions

#LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so #LoadModule filter_module modules/mod_filter.so

This didn't work, and after searching on this site I can't find a whole lot of widgets/templates/etc that are compatible with 2.0... so here are my questions...

1) Is there a way I can get v1.12.9 working by changing a config file or something? I would prefer to use this version because it seems that there are a lot more templates available for it.