Help!!!

Hi All – I need help!  I’m working on my master’s degree and I’m trying to build a slightly different view into ELGG for my final project.  I am a fair to middlin’ java programmer but I’m on the noob (newb?  I never know how to spell it!) side of PHP and I’m just learning ELGG.  I have written a couple of rudimentary plugins so I do have a general idea of how it hangs together.  I'm really impressed with ELGG (although I wish there was a little more documentation!)

I’m hoping to get some advice as to how best proceed.  Unfortunately, being a student dictates that I don’t have a lot of resources! ;->  Ideally, I’d love to be able to Skype with someone who can give me some advice as how to best architect as solution such as this.  However, even a quick posting with some advice would be appreciated!  As I say, funds are low but I can offer a sailboat ride if you’re ever in the Toronto area.  That, and my eternal gratitude!!!

My thesis argument is that ELGG provides the perfect combination of social media technologies for a connectivist styled distance learning course.  However, I would like to take it one step further by creating a view into ELGG that cuts across the various ‘technology silos’.  So, essentially what I want is to build a view that groups all of the content that was generated while in module 1, regardless of whether that content exists in a blog post, a wiki, a discussion group etc.

Now this could be easily done by the careful tagging and searching of content by all of the students but we can’t count on that.  What I would like to do is to create a view into each module that will allow students to view and to create content that will be automatically and appropriately tagged.