How come Elgg fails to provide a coherent solution that a $200 Phpfox product provides?

I have been playing around with Elgg for a couple of years now. I am not an Elgg expert. To my perception, Elgg's strengths are:

1. extendable architecture
  2. open source
  3. many plugins
  4. community

Elgg is great for customized social networking solutions for companies, organizations who can afford to spend (tens of?) thousands of euros. But if a school with a low budget wants to create a social networking software, Elgg could be just too cumbersome to deal with.

To start with, although Elgg has many great functional plugins, on the theme side, Elgg is pretty poor. Most Elgg themes look so amateurish missing any artistic beauty in terms of graphic elements, making them unsuitable for any serious presentable site, including some commercial plugins. There are better ones but they are also mostly half baked/unsupported. 

Looks like, if you are a school with a low budget, you'd better forget Elgg and go for a product like phpFox. It has a facebook-like theme that actually works in all corners, a "share on activity" box (allowing status, photos, blogs, videos etc shared at the same point) that Elgg'ers always talk about and can only dream of even today. a video upload module (reputedly) easier to install and configure than we are used to and some other stuff that 90% of the sites need right out of the box and working coherently. No issues like suddenly "x not showing up on the profile screen with this x theme" or so. And all this for $200 or so. Check for yourselves: http://www.phpfox.com/features/

If you wanna do all this with Elgg, you will really need to scratch the gound with your nails. You will need to spend a lot of time finding, matching the plugins, most likely end up spending much more money and I doubt you would still get the same coherent look and work that that $200 phpfox provides.