testing before hosting

hi everyone, pardon me as i am very new to all of this.  i havent much experience with network platforms, however do have a desire to try it out.

the issue i would like to address is site testing/modification as i know it will take a while before i have something viable to host(most likely on arvixe).  is there a virtual server that i can put on my personal machine for testing purposes?  if so, are there any that are recomended for elgg?

ps i did at least try to find some information in past discussions but came up empty handed. please let me know it there is an existing discussion.

thanks everyone

• You don't necessarily need a virtual machine for testing Elgg locally. You can install XAMPP on your computer, if you are on Windows (http://docs.elgg.org/wiki/Install_XAMPP). Or you could install Linux in parallel on your computer. The important things to have is a webserver, a database server, and php running on your computer. Elgg works best (is most easiest to start using) with the Apache webserver and MySQL database server. XAMPP will bring the necessary environment to run Elgg or other web applications. On Linux distrubutions the necessary installation and basic configuration of the applications is done during installation normally already. You could also use for example Virtualbox to install Linux on a virtual machine under your windows environment.

If you are completely new to web application hosting and administration you would need to learn a few things not necessarily connected with installing and hosting Elgg directly. But it can never hurt to learn a few general things about server configuration and administation. It will help you later when you start hosting your site on a webserver.

• adc