Composer

I read all this information using Git, packageist website. I have little knowledge but growing. Here is what im trying to do. Upgrade my website which is obviously not on either of those sites. My question is do  I use composer to upgrade elgg on my server (Obviously). How ? I have seen so many scripts such as the following.

composer self-update
composer create-project elgg/starter-project:dev-master ./path/to/project/root
cd ./path/to/project/root
composer install
composer install # 2nd call is currently required
vendor/bin/elgg-cli install # follow the questions to provide installation details

1: I have no idea what to do for instance. Where do I download the next Elgg site on my local computer so that I can use composer to upload to the server where my website is located. 

2: In this script ti doesnt say where to upload the files so where do i tell it so it can look for my server, and how do I code it. 

THank you

• Upgrading Elgg

Learn Elgg docs.

Installing Elgg

Let's say you want to install latest Elgg version in this directory on your server:

/var/www/elgg/www/

Then you need to use these commands in the console:

composer self-update
    composer create-project elgg/starter-project:dev-master /var/www/elgg/www/
    cd /var/www/elgg/www/
    composer install
    composer install
    vendor/bin/elgg-cli install

Be sure your server supports all requirements.

You can also use ZIP method if not comfortable with CLI.

• I have been searching and can't find the answer to this what does /var/ refer to in "/var/www/elgg/www/"

what is the need for the  "cd /var/www/elgg/www/"? I'm thinking the create-project creates a connect to github, vendor tells the user account to connect to "cd /var/www/elgg/www/" to download elgg, but i don't see where it determines where on the server to download too.

vendor would refer to me on github correct ?