PHP can send email but elgg site cannot.

Hello everyone, it's my first time to publish a topic and there's a issue with email. I love elgg! 

This example ElggDocs can send email but elgg site cannot. 

In setting.php:

$CONFIG->emailer_transport = 'sendmail';

More detail: elgg 3.3, MTA is mailx and smtps.

Thanks!

• The server's error log only shows "Unable to send mail: Unknown error". This error seems to occur when Elgg tries to send the email (vendor/elgg/elgg/engine/lib/notification.php line 259).

If you would find the mailserver (MTA) log it might contain a more detailed entry why the mail could not be sent, either never leaving the server as the server's MTA already denies the sending or the receiving server doesn't accept it for some reason.

It's still a possibility - like I tried to explain in my last posting - that your mailsever does not sent the emails from Elgg if the site email address has not the same domain as the domain of your sever. Or the receiving server doesn't accept it if "from" address domain and server domain don't match. As the server log contains the log entry about some "Unknown error" I rather believe the mail is never sent it the first place.

If you can't (or don't want) to use SMTP instead of the MTA on your server, you need to figure out what's wrong with the mailserver configuration as there's basically no configuration to be done on Elgg's side for sending via MTA. Only if you would want to make use of another mail provider and send the mails from the Elgg installation via SMTP you would have to provide the necessary config options in settings.php of your Elgg installation. Not using port 25 seems better anyway as you with port 465 you would send via SSL and the connection to the SMTP server would be encrypted.

• I checked my MTA log (I am not sure with it) and found some are time out