New to Elgg, Easy way to change index page?

I am quite new to Elgg having just installed 3.3.0.  It seems to function very well and I noticed that the default index page seems to go to the main activity page.  Is there an easy way to have Elgg default to a different page or is that not possible without a plugin?  

Thanks for any help.  Tom

• or is that not possible without a plugin?  

No isn't, atleast you must add a hook.

The bundled plugin is Front Page Demo aka Custom index works well by default in Elgg.

There're also many ways: 1, 2, 3

• Thanks RvR for such a quick and helpful response.  Can you point me towards some info that would help me in understanding how to use the front page demo plugin?  I activated the plugin but don't see anything that might guide me in how to configure.

• The Frontpage demo plugin would require modifying its code to customize the layout of the index page. It's meant as a simple example only. With some basic knowledge it wouldn't be too difficult to make some simple adjustments at least.

But you could also try out the Widget Manager plugin (https://elgg.org/plugins/384604). Newer versions of this plugins are available at https://github.com/ColdTrick/widget_manager/releases and you should probably also use the Widget Pack plugin from https://github.com/ColdTrick/widget_pack/releases. With the Widget Manager plugin you can configure the content of your index page on your site without the need to change any code directly.

• Thanks very much iionly.  Looks like a number of ways to adjust the index page.  Not being a coder I need some examples or directions on how to experiment with those plugins. Can you point me to any documents that might give info on how to use those specific plugins. The widget manager sounds like exactly what I would love to have. Thanks