Event Calendar lost first symbol from title in Russian language

I am using Elgg 2.3.10 and Event Calendar plugin 2.3.2, but if I'tried to enter the Title in Cyrillic language the first symbol looks damaged. But not any Cyrillic symbol I've found only one which cause the error.

https://www.awesomescreenshot.com/image/3821615/fb0273f64dee368d1c84d8666777021a

• Works for me w/o any errors.

Seems, this is an another 3-rd party plugin's issue. Try to disable all 3-rd party activated plugins; leave event calendar only and try again.

Another trick: I had such a problem too (с буквой Р). In my own custom plugin not Event Calendar. After switching MySQL to utf8mb4, everything worked again.

• I've no experience with Cyrillic character encoding. But I would think that UTF8 encoding should be sufficient (maybe I'm wrong and UTF8MB4 is necessary for some characters). The example RvR has included in his posting works for me fine with UTF8 used for the database tables (though I'm not sure I implicitely get UTF8 encoding anyway when copy+paste с буквой Р for testing). For the input correctly saved the database tabled involved would have to use UTF8 encoding at least. But maybe the problem is not the input but rather the output. What's the encoding you have selected in your browser for output of websites? If you enforce some encoding it might help to change this to an "automatic" selection as websites (including Elgg) tells the browser the encoding to be used.

• Thank you @RvR and @iionly for your support!

The problem is not only in the Calendar Event Plugin but in other components too.

Now I've use the new database with the utf8 charset in it and receive the same error as in the previous db with the cp1251 encoding, no additional plugins after clean install.

The character brokes in the Group Title and User Name also.

Possibly the source of the error such in the this old thread https://elgg.org/discussion/view/236843/national-characters-corrupted-in-db-not-utf8