Installation - Data Directory

Hi Everybody,

I'm new to elgg and already struggling with the installation. The data directory must be created outside of the document root? If it's outside of the root how can I get the URL for it or does it have to be added to a different domain, I guess it's easy but I just don't understand.

Thanks,

Hamish

• Think of the directory as a 2nd database; it's not for public use. Just put the path in like /var/elgg-data or whatever.

• As Steve said, it's not an url you need to enter during installation for the data directory but the path on the filesystem to the data directory. Enter the absolute, full path starting with the filesystem root down to the data directory you have created and not just a relative path for example from the home directory.

It must be outside the document root to prevent direct access over the Internet to its content. Elgg deals with serving the files if they are required and deals with access restrictions that might be set on them.

• Thanks for the help, I can't beleive that I find it so difficult to install. I added a new directory http://mysite.de/media/images. When asked for the Data Directory I entered /media/images and get the error "Your data directory /media/images does not exist.". If I enter /media I get the error "Your data directory /media is not writable by the web server.". CHMOD = 770 (even changed to 777) and the Owner has been changed to the FTP and PHP-User. I think i'm missing one important step?

• Not sure where you created the directory but I think you did create it within the document root directory which would be wrong. Anything that is accessible by url would be wrong. Within the document root directory (the directory on the server that matches the url http://mysite.de) only the Elgg install files (from the zip file) are to be saved (and possibly later on additional plugins).