How to modify another plugin’s sidebar in my plugin without using overriding?

Hello everyone,
I am new in elgg, I have one problem I want to modify another plugin’s sidebar in my plugin without using overriding another one’s.
What should I do?

• I'm not sure you correctly understand the mechanism of "overriding" a view. It doesn't mean making modifications to the original view file of the other plugin but it means you "replace" the original view completely by a view located "at the same place" in the views/default directory of your own plugin.

It depends on what you want to achieve if there's alternative to overriding the other plugins view. One other way is "extending" the view. But this method leaves the original view unchanged. You can only add your own stuff either before or after the original view.

Read about the possibilities of modifiying views at http://learn.elgg.org/en/stable/guides/views.html#altering-views-via-plugins. Maybe that clarifies your options.

• Thanks for the reply  iionly
    If i use overriding method then one problem occur, if another plugin's owner change the code in sidebar then i must go to make those changes in myplugin also.
    So is their any option?

• It really depends on what you want to achieve which option is best. The option to just extend a view is independent of changes in code in the other plugin's view (as long as the view is not removed). But you can't change the code / the output of the other plugin but only add your own code/output either before or after the other plugins code/output.