Trouble installing elgg 2.3.2 on a Linux VPS server

Hi everyone. I am having trouble installing elgg 2.3.2 on a linux VPS. The last time I installed Elgg was on a shared hosting plan and I had no issues then, but I am completely new to VPS hosting. The reason I switched to a VPS host was because of poor performance of my Elgg site on a shared hosting package. 

Some features of my VPS package are as follows:

1 IP Address, 2GB RAM, 50GB Storage, 1vCPU, 1TB Bandwidth

My php.info can be found at (http://www.rnetw.co.za/myphp.php

Steps followed:

1. I uploaded the elgg 2.3.2 zip file on Cpanel and extracted the files to the public_html folder.

2. I created the data folder in the main directory (/home/rnetw)

3. I created a database and assigned a user with full privileges

4. I tried going to www.rnetw.co.za for the install page, but only got a blank page on the install page

Any form of help would be appreciated. I am trying to setup a network site for employee communication at my company. 

Regards,
Charles

• I see there's already a fully working (non-Elgg) site at this domain...

If your posting is no spam: have you extracted the Elgg zip into a subdirectory of public_html? Then you would have to go your "yourdomain.url/subfolder_name" in the browser for the installation. If the page is blank, it might be that whatever you have installed in public_html directly might have a .htaccess blocking access in subfolders.

• Thanks for the reply @iionly. No I am no spam. I put up a temporary index page I'm planning to incorporate into my elgg installation as a plugin. I extracted the Elgg zip in the public_html directory itself so that I excess the site without the /subfolder_name at the end, but I will try to do it as you described to check if there is indeed a .htaccess thats blocking access.