All images are not displaying - New Install

I have been slowly working through all of the errors for the last 3 months. I am new to server management but have worked through most of the issues until now and haven't found any help on the forums that can help me get past this issue.

Setup:

Amazon Linux server on AWS

I successfully have my website up and running at elgg.diaryearth.com but no images are displaying.

I have the elgg install under /var/www/html

I have the data folder under /tmp/data

The Group/Owner is Apache/Apache for the data folder at 775. 

Everything seems good and I have not done anything fancy on this install besides all of the manual steps you have to do to get it installed on amazon linux. Any ideas on what can cause the issue of no images being able to be displayed?

Thank you!

• What kind of images are you referring to, i.e. are profile images also not displayed or is it only a problem with images uploaded for example with the bundled Files plugin or with the Tidpyics plugin?

The problem could be that the creation of the image thumbnails (created when uploading image files) fails for some reason:

• GD PHP extension not installed on the server (necessary for profile images, Files plugin image uploads and by default also by Tidypics if no other image library is selected),
    • file upload failing in general (not only for image files). Can you upload files of other filetypes (or even image files regardless if they not displayed) with the Files plugin AND then download these files again? If there's a general problem with files and the download fails, the problem is rather with permissions of the data directory,