Making "Display Name" a field only an admin can change

Greetings,

I have been trying to figure out where to begin making a plugin to hide the option to change a "Display Name" or to restrict it to only allowing an Admin to change it.

I run a private site, and in this scenario, I create the account for community members.

I wish to have an individual's "username" and "display name" be the same and remain as such.

I have used the Profile Manager plugin to add a new custom field for Full Name.

It is my goal to have a consistent user experience, and there are default behaviors that break this consistency in my point of view. For example, I want member lists to display the username of an individual, and I also want to make tagging easier for the end user.

In my scenario, since I am making all the accounts myself, it is an easier approach to just stop a member from changing the "display name" I set, or being able to see that option in their settings and edit profile.

I am new to Elgg, and the Elgg way of doing things, but I do understand it is preferred that such customizations are made as plugins instead of editing the core.

I have made a couple basic tutorial plugins, and am starting to grasp the idea, I just have no clue where I would start to hide these options, or make them restricted to an admin changing.

If I make a solid plugin, I would be happy to share it here with the community, as it seems others have wanted a similar option, however there was never a solid answer or a plugin made.

Thanks

• First hide the form element (CSS is fine, make a myplugin.css view and extend elgg.css). Then you want to keep them in sync. Create a handler for the event update:after, user and have it set $user->name = $user->username and $user->save().

• CSS: .elgg-form-usersettings-save .elgg-module:first-of-type { display:none; }

• I think I am not quite understanding the event handler part.... My code crashes the whole site into a 500 error lol