How to create a custom Homepage

HI Folks,

I'm wanting to create a custom homepage for my ELGG site, I've dug up a few different ways to do this online, but I'm wondering what the best approach is?   I'm not a PHP programmer, so utilizing a plugin would be my first choice.   Right now the site is ELGG 1.8.19, but I would like to upgrade to 1.9 soon.   So one obvious question is should I do this before or after the upgrade?

Thanks for any pointers,

Chris

• It depends how customized the homepage is supposed to be. If you want a homepage in the way it's provided by the bundled custom_index plugin but only with additional widgets that shows new content from other plugins, you can use the Widget Manager plugin (https://community.elgg.org/plugins/384604). If you use additonally the Homepage CMS plugin (https://community.elgg.org/plugins/968182) you can customize the homepage a bit more freely. Both of these plugins have not yet been updated for Elgg 1.9. The Widget Manager plugin needs to be upgraded in any case as the version for Elgg 1.8 won't work on Elgg 1.9. I don't know if the Homepage CMS plugin also needs to be upgraded for Elgg 1.9 but most likely it's necessary. I know that Coldtrick already works on a new version of the Widget Manager plugin for Elgg 1.9. I don't know if Matt intends to release a new version of Homepage CMS for Elgg 1.9 in the recent future though. So, using these plugins would currently make sense only on Elgg 1.8.