Organizing information here at elgg

Hello,

I'm new to elgg, but I'm a long time developer with a lot of experience with open source projects.  I'd like to suggest a few additions to this site before the information here gets out of hand (already there.)   This site needs a proper forum.  This site needs a wiki.   This site needs versioning controls.  This site desperately needs an organized index of the plugins (with screen caps,  version controls, categories, user feedback, user ratings, documentation etc...)   I had problems with my install from the get go.  Normally I would go to the software's forums and relay my issues.  I have no formal way of giving the core developers feedback.  There are problems with the install.   This project is burdened with poor user experience, and very poor information architecture.  I offer my services if a core developer would like to contact me.

• Wow, you certainly didn't look around at all. You see the big menu at the top with items like Docs and Developers? Docs takes you to the wiki.

I agree about the lack of forum. Right now we are using google groups. The plugin section has been improving but as you point out still needs some improving to be as useful as what's available at other OS projects.

The install is crazy easy. Check the troubleshooting section in the wiki.

• I'd like to suggest to Cash that he take basedrop's offer. I have repeatedly tried to use the Docs and found them lacking. Seriously lacking. I know it's hard when you put a lot of work into a project and have a product you're proud of to be criticized on some aspect of it, but you should be open to suggestions.