Getting Started Guide

Phil suggested adding a getting started guide to the Elgg documentation http://docs.elgg.org/wiki/Main_Page. What should this cover?

• Let's start at the beginning, remember that post in the g-group?

It was empty and he didn't have a clue ... so how about telling people to expect that initially. An explanation that the software does rightly, largely consist of user contributions so given that there aren't yet any there, there won't be a huge amount to look at?

I can't remember now, are any plugins activated automatically or are they _all_ off by default.

If they're off then that might be the next logical step?

• Well, being a complete beginner, I can tell you what I am looking for.

First, I'm told a lot of the information exists on the site, but it's certainly not easy to find or get an overview from.  If you want to build a wide user community, it is vital to get that "Getting Started" guide up. For every person you get downloading & trying to play with Elgg, I guess you get 50 who have heard of it; come to the site, look around, and leave confused without trying it.  Like I did.  It was only because I kept reading so many great things about Elgg that I came back to try it out.

I think a paragraph or two at the beginning as to what kind of skills are required for what operations would be super useful.  There are some frameworks that don't require coding to get a basic site up and operational, but I get the feeling there's not much you can do with Elgg without opening up and editing a .php file.  Which is fine, but that should be made clear, one way or the other.  What can you configure with the Elgg tools, and what do you need to code/edit.

Then, a quick guide to customize the start page, (which I did find, sort of, by searching through other groups & finding the comment:

"You have to edit your index.php file under /mods/custom_index".  A little more fleshing out, a little easier to find, would be great.