Counting forum topic posts by user

Hi, I'm looking to extend the group forum topic view by including the amount of posts a user has made inside the group.

I'm having a little trouble with it. I've seen how the vanilla groups plugin counts annotations for each forum topic, but I'm not sure how to tell elgg that I want to count annotations based on a specific user's guid.

Any help would be appreciated. I can follow simple instructions, but I'm not really a coder.

I've found the following:

$count_annotations = $f->countAnnotations("group_topic_post");

and 

.elgg_echo('groups:posts').": " . $count_annotations . "

Thanks in advance

• Just realized that. So I tried the countAnnotations code, but I get the error:

ElggAnnotations::countAnnotations is an unrecognized function.

Looks like I can't count annotations inside an annotation file. Depressing as this would be a very useful thing to have. A lot of my users are confused by groups because they are used to forums. So if I can make the groups discussions look more like forums they can understand better.

• isn't countAnnotations a function of ElggEntity, not ElggAnnotation?

• I think so, so I'm completely stuck and have no idea how to proceed.

Aaahh! I wish I had time to study php more carefully. I'll have to put this one on hold for a while and then come back to it with fresh eyes.

Thanks for your thoughts Evan.

• Without 1.7, I'm thinking you'll have to get all the forum topic entities, then loop through those and build up a count of all the annotations that have been added by the given user.  The end sum is the count you want.

• $river = elgg_view_river_items($subject_guid, 0, $relationship_type, $type, $subtype, '');

can give you the riverposts for subtype "groupforumtopic", user guid, and topic guid -- might be able to make it work from this angle..

id     type     subtype     action_type     access_id     view     subject_guid     object_guid     posted