Database/Performance Troubles =[

Hi,

Im a bit of a newbie to this so you'll have to excuse me if some of these questions are a bit obvious... Basically Im in the process of customizing my elgg (1.7.1) site and have already come into problems regarding the performance of my setup.

The site seems to run fine as far as I can see with a maximum of 3 widgets on my profile or dashboard page but when I begin to add more it becomes very temperamental (it does some times work with 4) What happens is that when the widget laiden page is loading most of the widgets load up fine but a random one will appear as a database error: 'cannot connect to the database with the given credentials' & the appearence of the site changes to a blue background.

Im guessing that the problem will be my database stuggling with multiple read/write commands at once - I have read things in the docs that can be done to optimise performance - split r/w, memcache, etc. but I have no clue how to even begin doing this?

besides all of that is in the scalability section - which suggests adaption to come with huge amounts of users, surely it shouldn't need to be done to come with one test user with a few widgets?

Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Danny

• sorry, Just talked to him and he rents it - through hosting24... dont know if that changes anything?

• FYI:
    -------- Performance Metrics -------------------------------------------------
    [--] Reads / Writes: 94% / 6%
    [--] Total buffers: 1.7G global + 2.7M per thread (600 max threads)
    [OK] Maximum possible memory usage: 3.3G (41% of installed RAM)
    [OK] Slow queries: 0% (657/27M)
    [OK] Highest usage of available connections: 39% (239/600)
    [OK] Key buffer size / total MyISAM indexes: 1.4G/1.8G
    [OK] Query cache efficiency: 66.8% (17M cached / 26M selects)
    [OK] Query cache prunes per day: 0
    [OK] Sorts requiring temporary tables: 0% (195 temp sorts / 235K sorts)