Friends and members

I hope this is the right group for this.  For the ELGG network I have planned, I'm going to need to differentiate between various types of friends.  I'd like some sort of friend-type.  For example, a friend might be a colleague, a family member, fraternity brother, etc.  I envision using groups to represent not only social groupings but also businesses. A member of a group might be a customer, employee, creditor, etc.  I imagine this would be some sort of plugin that adds this kind of differentiation. 

• relationship type ( friend, colleague, family, fraternity, sorority, abc, xyz );

• Yes.   Do you now if this is something planned in an upcoming version?  I searched plug-ins and didn't find anything. 

• Can't his be achieved by Groups?

• Maybe I'm not looking at it right? If it already exists can you provide some more detail (I'm a newbie).  I don't see anything in the current group module other than the normal description / tags/ fields.  A group-type would be nice as would a relationship-type for members. 

• This is confusing me, and I'm used to creating high-level Object Oriented systems! I suspect it's just a matter of semantics.

There's a lot of useful cross-talk regarding roles, permissions and relationships between entities at the moment, much of it mine for various reasons. The way I'm used to seeing it is that members can have relationships which are not necessarily governed by roles and permissions, but also roles which do confer certain permissions (the whole point of having roles).