Notifications redirect links when not logged in

I ran into an issue where if my users where not logged in and followed certain links in a notification, say for a new file upload or a blog entry, they would simply get a page that said 'No results found'. When they did this with photo albums it would redirect them to the login page and present a message that said "You need to be logged in to view this page"

Since I wanted this behavior on all such things I poked around the Wiki and found the gatekeeper() function. I inserted it after the else clause in the entities/index.php file. and in other places for thewire, messageboard and progfle display.  We did not want much publically available content :)

I'm fairly new to Elgg so if there is a better way to do this,, please educate me :)

entities/index.php:

// Get the entity, if possible
if ($entity = get_entity($guid)) {
        if ($entity->container_guid) {
                set_page_owner($entity->container_guid);
        } else {
                set_page_owner($entity->owner_guid);
        }

// Set the body to be the full view of the entity, and the title to be its title
        if ($entity instanceof ElggObject) {
                $title = $entity->title;
        } else if ($entity instanceof ElggEntity) {
                $title = $entity->name;
        }
        $area2 = elgg_view_entity($entity,true);
        if ($shell) {
                $body = elgg_view_layout('two_column_left_sidebar', '', $area2);
        } else {
                $body = $area2;
        }
} else {
        gatekeeper();
        $body = elgg_echo('notfound');
}

mod/profile/index.php:

// Get the Elgg engine
                require_once(dirname(dirname(dirname(__FILE__))) . "/engine/start.php");

gatekeeper();

// Get the username
                $username = get_input('username');

$body = "";

mod/thewire/index.php

// Load Elgg engine
                require_once(dirname(dirname(dirname(__FILE__))) . "/engine/start.php");

gatekeeper();