Hosting Advice & Concerns..

Hi everybody i just want to say great community I love elgg.

Does anybody have good hosting advice?  I’m concern with the abilities to host an elgg site.. 

The two companies recommended by elgg seem to only allow a limited amount of users logged in at one time.  

In another post user Dhrupdescoop stated that a 100 dollar hosting plan would only allow around 50 users at once..  Our site is for a local university and has growing support in popularity.  We expect to have at least 200 users logged in at one time.. What company or hosting plant would anybody here recommend? I’m sure your all aware of elggs hosting limitations do to it using apache as php.. 

• @DhrupDeScoop Nothing special about my hosting, I've been using Arvixe for One year, two months and never had any simultaneous users problem.

I've been working with them for only three months =)

Remember way back when I started with www.milocker.com (Jan 2010)? I had 10-20 simultaneous users (or more) and no problems whatsoever (even when people were uploading pictures and using that heavy elgg bottom bar chat), and I was not working with them.   

They times that milocker was down was my fault, when I was testing new code hehe

Rodolfo Hernandez

Arvixe/Elgg Community Liaison

• omg...this is awesome to hear Rodolfo, I have been stressing about this all day...thanks for putting my mind at rest ^__^

• As I said B4....

Things like "elgg bottom bar chat" will get you suspended because of the heavy CPU% and MySql usage.. Ask those who have had their accounts suspended before (by Arvixe).

Yep - you are *lucky. ;-) You seem to be getting VPS performance for the price of cheap shared hosting ;-P