we got company!

hi everyone,

i just visited an open source social networking platform , which is just like elgg. they have the most features that elgg has and also some features that elgg don't.

it's name is Oxwall.org , it has the same things like forum , users can upload the plugins. etc etc, it just looks like some modified version of elgg.looks like someone copied the same things from elgg. i don't know about security coding etc etc.

whatever i'm happy with elgg :)

• I wanted to post a reply, and I was looking for the reply box, I could not find it, I checked if I was logged in, and I was, then I realised I had to join the group to be able to post here.

Here is my problem, I am new to elgg, I wanted an open source social networking engine with great user support, and elgg seemed to be the right choice, but problem started when I wanted to have site wide user forums where everyone could join the conversation.

There are some forum plugins but they are quite buggy and don't really do what I want. For the last couple of days, I have been trying to integrate Vanilla forums with elgg. No luck. There is a plugin for version 1.7 which is now discontinued. Then there is another plugin for elgg 1.8 which uses proxyconnect, but I visited vanilla web site and they say you should use jsconnect instead of proxyconnect. I posted on the forum but the last post was 75 days ago. I am not sure if I can get help. The lack of decent forums in elgg is a serious problem. I am no expert, it is just an outsider's view. I cannot imagine a social network without forums. 

Today I visited Oxwall web site and in their demo they have Forums page and it seems to be OK. So tonight I am going to try out oxwall. See what happens. 

• Can you use the Groups as a forum? Just create an open group