Elgg 1.8 speed

Is elgg 1.8 faster than 1.7 ?

If yes, why? what's the difference?

Thanks to all elgg friends.

• The primary focus for devleopment of 1.8 was improving the UI/UX, fixing long standing bugs, and standardizing code and API, so there were no explicit improvements to speed beyond those that come with better written code. 1.9 will focus on performance enhancements.

• Smith

Thanks Brett.

I 'm a little confused, please i need an advice.

I closed my site a few weeks ago because unfortunately my same idea is to be launched from a billionaire site, after careful consideration I have decided not to go forward.

Fortunately I had better idea, small but good. Now, in tha past 9 months I studied and learned a little about elgg 1.7.6 I have many plugins and changed many parts of the site, small and large changes in html and css, not much of php .

You will release  elgg 1.8, I like it, has some things that I want in my site, I think it is also more fluid in through the pages, perhaps because there are no plug ins or other reasons.

My question:
    I would work on 1.8 from settember. Should I start over from scratch? customizing everything, all the pages, all installed plugin, translate in my language, I spent the last 9 months to understand, explore and customize elgg 1.7.6. It will take me a long time and I'm confused because the 1.9 will focus on speed and i'm interested very much to speed improvements.

So do you think it's better to wait for 1.8? or wait for 1.9? or continue working onmy site that is already customized, configured and tested?

• Smith

Is 1.9 the last version of your project?

• If you haven't launched yet and plan to launch in the next 2-3 months my advice is to use 1.8.

• I think i messed my site up a few weeks ago in 1.7 =).

Anywho, I did dive into installing 1.8 and it seems very different from 1.7. If you view the source all the CSS have 'elgg-' branded added. So i doubt your old CSS will work.