Is it possible to filter entity lists?

Hello everyone,

i am very new to Elgg development and Elgg itself,  and therefore i am curious if there is a way to filter displayed entities by specific attributes of the given entity (metadata like price, ISBN, or title and description).

Right now i am working with an addon that displays entities (it displays them with the list_entities(...) method), and since the list displayed can get quite big, a filter by content like title, description, price, and so on would be great.

I saw the default Search only searches by tags, so i can not rely on it to filter the content appropriately(or is there a way to tell it to search by customized attributes?)

Does anyone know how i could do a filter plugin or can point me at something to work on with?

Thanks for any replies!

• I forgot how i did it but to tell you i'm sure this discussion is exist in this forum. you can use the search..

• will do ... :)

EDIT:

have found a way to filter them by metadata through this method

get_entities_from_metadata ($meta_name, $meta_value="", $entity_type="", $entity_subtype="",...);

=)

• @Adam: goto the following url: http://reference.elgg.org

Top right is an autocomplete search box. It lists all functions available in elgg. Try typing in get_entities and see what comes up.

• You should also use the more recent implementation of elgg_get_entities_from_metadata()

• @Adam  what file did you patch-up for you to get it work the search custom entity  hu. but this http://reference.elgg.org/ sample was so awesome ajax autocomplete search. also i'am looking to search a user with autocomplete but has a picture besides it.

excuse my engllish so horrible. :)

• @Trajan - Did that, just it's kind of hard looking for something, when you're not exactly sure what it is you are looking for, even if it has autocomplete ;)