Post to twitter

Hi,

I'd like to have a checkbox under my wire posts where we could send our posts to twitter. Has anyone had any luck doing this with 1.8?

Thanks,

Hairy Larry

• twitter_api auth is a core plugin, so all you really need is to find a php class for twitter and write a few lines of code.

• You can use the same twitter API of the core. The users who are already using twitter_api to login to your site, can directly send their wire posts to twitter with a little coding. For other user, they need to have to authenticate their elgg account with twitter first. Anyway you have to do a bit of code yourself..

• I haven't got the twitter_api plugin to work with 1.8. Are any others having luck with it? Maybe it's something I'm doing wrong.

That would be the first step. Then it would still have to be coded to forwarded a post to twitter.

I have been extending embed_extender but I have no experience writing plugins. I am an experienced php programmer and I'm always interested in learning something new.

• Have you gone thru this in yr 1.8 install ?

Plugin Settings

Twitter API

You must obtain a consumer key and secret from Twitter. Fill out the new app application. Select "Browser" as the application type and "Read & Write" for the access type. The callback url is http://localhost/elgg1810/twitter_api/authorize.

• I think this would do the job (haven't tested, just wrote down the code):

start.php

<?php

/* hypeWireTweet

* @package hypeJunction

* @subpackage hypeWireTweet

* @author Ismayil Khayredinov <ismayil.khayredinov@gmail.com>

* @copyright Copyrigh (c) 2011, Ismayil Khayredinov

*/

elgg_register_event_handler('init', 'system', 'hj_wiretweet_init');

function hj_wiretweet_init() {

elgg_extend_view('forms/thewire/add', 'hj/wiretweet/select', 1);

elgg_register_plugin_hook_handler('status', 'user', 'hj_wiretweet_send_to_twitter');

}

function hj_wiretweet_send_to_twitter($hook, $type, $return, $params) {