Search tool for elgg based on tags

Hi, I'm brand new to elgg, but I hope I will not say too much stupid things...

I know something about CSS, HTML, PHP, MYSQL; I know what I want from my elgg istance but I'd like an advertise on the right way to achieve it.

- I want my user to upload contents (text, images, video - maybe links to youtube video, songs) using predefinited tags

- I want set up a search page with all the predefinite tags in order to make a quick and simple tag-based search on all the database (username should be one of the possible tag, too)

- I want the search result to be shown like in a slideshow (for picture) or a playable list (for videos or music)

What is the better way to achieve this? a plugin for elgg? the use of API? There is already something I can use "as is"?

Thank you!

• you can use izap's tag autocomplete plugin to restrict the tags that people input into the site to a set list.. 
    you can edit the page /tags/all that already exists in elgg to display the tags..
    you can use the tag_cumulus plugin to alter the way the tags are rendered 
    another plugin also exists called photo_cumulus that will display photos in an animation..

that's as much as i know.. i would also like to see the search results page evolved to allow direct playback of videos and visibility of images. 

• thank you for your answer but:

- autocomplete plugin is ok, but it seems it doesn't avoid the creation of unwanted new tags, does it?

- thanks, it's interesting

- tag_cumulus is a fancy way to show tags... I would prefer to choose a custom matrix aspect 

I'm studing API in order to extract search results from a totally custom page: it seems the most flexible way to me, by now...

Once I have access to data, I will find the best solution in the world to show the content, I hope...

• autocomplete does have the option of not allowing new tags to be added, i don't have it installed presently to refer to, but i know it does that.