Server resources needed for a large elgg implementation

Hello

I am totally new to elgg and i have been tasked to implement a server for a potential amount of 10k users so i am wondering any special concerns i have to look on what server i need to get i was thinking on something like:

- Intel Nehalem Quad-Core Dual Xeon 2.13GHz E5506
- 16 GB RAM ddr3
- 1 TB storage (or maybe 2)
- 20 TB monthly bw

Wonder if this - with proper tunning - can withstand 10 or even 15k of users... any thougths on this are welcome.

Thank you. 

• [FYI I moved this discussion from tech support into the performance/scalability group.]

• Guys I need some advice on this topic, we want to prepare for future scaling and get the setup correct right away, any advice/suggestions much appreciated.

We are planing to get a hosting account on Rackspace cloud server and probably using Ngix.

Is it a good idea to have separate box for Mysql server with dedicated RAM and CPU, assuming it's on same network for Elgg installation to communicate with or is that even possible?

Same question for Data folder, if it's possible.

Thanks

• I've found memcached and APC to be pretty much mandatory if you want to push things and scale.  The difference is phenomenal.  Varnish or some other reverse proxy is also a good idea if using Apache instead of ningx or the like.  I can handle 3k visitors/day with lots of video (700 kbps streaming) and photos easily like this with 1 modest core2duo processor and 3.3GB RAM.  If the scale factor remains constant (probably too optimistic?) it wouldn't start to max out until around 10-12k visitors/day.  I also have other sites running with cron jobs and am still using PHP 5.3.  I think if I really pushed things and tried to squeeze every drop of performance I could do 20k visitors/day with this modest hardware.  I do have memcached setup with an additional server although that other server already has many other sites on it.