Fatal error, admin setup, during installation

In the last step of the installation, creating the admin account, I get this error after clicking ok.

An unrecoverable error has occurred and has been logged. Contact the site administrator with the following information: Exception #1357221371.

I have tried 3 times, with the same results. Deleting the entire ftp folder each time and uploading it again and starting over.

• Thanks Cim

DhrupDeScoop, I was always thinking I must be doing something wrong, however, all the server stuff I always copy / paste so I really doubt I could have somehow screwed that up the 10 times I installed it. For me it's a mystery.

I'm getting this error: "Your data directory /home/www/songwriterworkshop.com/sww_elgg_data must be outside of your install path for security."

• root/elgg files

root/data_folder

• not be so sure that we're always typing correct code all the time !;-)  i've been doing this code stuff for 40+ years **and the last time i did a typo in my elgg install abt some months back - cost me ~2 weeks to find that little little fella ! so there! maybe you consistently copy/pasted the wrong data stuff ?have you ever seen a one byte missing comma code issue take several weeks to figure ? i (q.happily;) have.

and watch what matt said above - some hosts do have quirky differences for mysql hostname. *and i *know that error "mysql_connect() : php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: " very well --> db issues! most likely the mysql hostname.

here's the db data fields' entry. if get that error again -- *post your data here* not just describe the error ;-P

• Sorry, I've been ill :)

I copy paste the date directy from my web host, so I don't think it really can be an error?

But I have gotten my installations working now, it's really just the matter of installation paths that has me confused.

How can I install Elgg at the root, and still have the data folder outside the elgg path?