Integrate Elgg into an existing PHP application

Hi,
I am new to Elgg. I am trying to integrate Elgg into my existing PHP application. Both application(Elgg and existing app) will be hosted in the same server under same root folder. I am planning to use existing application as master and Elgg as slave. User validation and registration will be done through existing app as it is being done now. A link will be provided for Elgg in the menu of existing app. I am looking for best possible ways to:

1. open Elgg app from existing app via link. I wrote a new login plugin to unregister current login action and use new login event to read username from session variable saved by existing app. But Elgg is not recognizing the session value stored by existing app. Don't know what is the problem. I guess, I have use same session for both app. Is there any easy way to access session used by Elgg from existing app and set values to be used by new login event?

2. load user into Elgg database from external app when new user account is created(currently I am loading users onto Elgg database manually using the upload_user plugin)
Hope someone please help me. Thank you.

• I looking for ways to add external app logic to system boot event without touching core code?Is that possible?

• I had similar problem some hours ago. i had to change "Elgg / engine / lib / sessions.php" to an updated version found at
    "https://github.com/sroutier/Elgg/blob/41024e1f2c7a9dd49c9c232aff31868850ecd3e5/engine/lib/sessions.php" and it worked perfectly for me
    The updated version adds UUID to session and cookie name to avoid conflict between the elgg session and the parent app session.
    Though elgg's core file "sessions.php" is being changed, it is a good solution if don't mind the change.

• Thanks Don for sharing this with me. I will try your solution today. If I don't have any choice, I ok with changing core files.