Advanced search for users

Hey guys,

I would like to have a functionality which woudl enable me to search for other users based on certain profile fields such as "Univeristy Degree", "Gender", "Interests" for a univeristy social media site. I have been looking around and haven't been able to find anything. I've found out that it existed in previous versions of profile manager, but is no longer supported. 

Can someone point me in the right direction please? Im not a very experienced coder, but when push comes to shove, I can manage with non-complex mysql/php/html scripts. 

Thanks guys, Appreciate it

• Check out this fix for adding profile fields to searches: https://github.com/sembrestels/Elgg/commit/ff0c20bf6d81b74678e31a3e8dfd101d9a76d633#L0L151

I'm not a programmer, but I was able to make this change to the search plugin pretty easily and it works great on Elgg 1.8.6!

• You can also make this edit to start.php in the search plugin to allow for partial match returns:

$where = "(MATCH ($fields_str) AGAINST ('$query*' $options))";

The difference is the * added after $query. In my plugin it is line 445, but it looks like it is line 447 in the latest release. I can't find the post that suggested this edit but it somewhere here in the forum.

One thing to mention here is that allowing partial matches is going to generate a lot more matches and may slow down your searches on large sites.

• good tips ;-P

database accesses will generally not quite slow down site ~ it's usually the server's responses (@performance) that causes issues.

• Ed and Dhrup, thanks for your advice! Ed, can did you use profile manager to create additional searchable fields?

Thanks!

• Yep. However, I haven't had much time to dig into the specifics yet. For example, I haven't yet figured out why some matches return just a user name and others return user names with the matching text.