Available widgets in dashboard depend on theme?

Sorry, I'm quite new to Elgg.

Yesterday I did publish my first plugin ("Simple Weather Widget").

Though, I do not understand why widgets available in the dashboard (after "Add widgets" is pressed) depend on the choosen theme (at least it looks like so to me): with the default theme, I can see a lot of widgets (included, say, "Activity", "Friends", "Pages", and mine weather widget). If I activate - say - "Cool theme 1.0, I see a different set of widgets...

And - more - clicking "Dashboard" on my home page doesn't show the dashboard page (as it does with no theme added), but redraws the home page...

Can anybody clearify this behaviour? Is it by design or a bug?

• It depends on the theme, while the theme shouldn't affect the available widgets, it's entirely possibly that it does - that is to say, the capability is there should the theme designer code it in.

I haven't tested any themes, so I can't confirm what you're reporting.  Maybe post on the theme page and ask if that behaviour is intentional.