Get user guid

Hi, I'm a beginner in php and in elgg.

I can ask the database myself and code in php myself BUT, I do have a problem I'm trying to tweak the friendrequest plugin to only allow friendship between group of people I choosed.

I need to ask elgg for the curent user guid and friend guid. I get functions on the web but I can't make it work :/

I am really beginning in functions, if u could get me the really tiny piece of code wich ask elgg the guid and prompt it in a "$guid_searched" I would be so glad.

Thank u all for your support :)

• I don't know what the prepare and execute methods exactly do, but I suspect the problem might be that you use the $user and $friend Elgg user entities while you most likely need to use the corresponding GUIDs instead. For the friend you already have the GUID in $friend_guid and the logged-in user GUID can be found out by using elgg_get_logged_in_user_guid().

Also the check of gender and setting the state of $error depending on the gender match/mismatch is rather pointless, if you set $error = false after the if-clause again. You would need to remove this line. Also, in case of $error == true I assume you don't want the following if-clause to be processed anyway at all, so you would need to check the state of $error already before this if-clause (by embedding the existing if-clause within another if-clause that has the state of $error as condition).

I don't know why you would need to save the gender in an extra database table. This might be for valid reasons. But wouldn't it be possible to add the gender info simply within a metadata field of the user entities? Then there wouldn't be such complicated database queries necessary but you could simply compare $user->gender with $friend->gender.

• Hi,

i did some test and it appears at least one problem comes from the database request. How do we do in elgg to ask the database a value? I know it in general but each time i try in elgg it fails.