Get user guid

Hi, I'm a beginner in php and in elgg.

I can ask the database myself and code in php myself BUT, I do have a problem I'm trying to tweak the friendrequest plugin to only allow friendship between group of people I choosed.

I need to ask elgg for the curent user guid and friend guid. I get functions on the web but I can't make it work :/

I am really beginning in functions, if u could get me the really tiny piece of code wich ask elgg the guid and prompt it in a "$guid_searched" I would be so glad.

Thank u all for your support :)

• Following methods are used to get user guid you can use of your own need.

• elgg_get_logged_in_user_entity()->guid;
    • elgg_get_page_owner_entity()->guid;
    • get_user_by_username(<username>)->guid;
    • get_user_by_email(<email>)->guid;

Regards

• Hi, I didn't get what should I do with these?

For exemple if I wanna use the first

shall I write $guid = elgg_get_logged_in_user_entity()->guid; ?

• If you want the guid of the logged in user you can also get it directly with:

$guid = elgg_get_logged_in_guid();

How to retrieve the friend's guid depends on what exactly you are trying to implement, so I can't give you the perfect example. For example

$users_friends = get_user_friends(elgg_get_logged_in_user_guid(), "", false);

would return the user entities of all friends of the currently logged in user.

For reference of Elgg functions you can use http://reference.elgg.org/.

• Ok I am trying to disallow friendship between different kind of people, I am thinking about disallowing between guys and girls but I could disallow under 18 years old to make friendship with older people as well.

I am starting from the friendrequest plugin

So Now I can start from the user Id and find if it's a man or a woman.

Now I need to get the id of the one he is trying to be friend with. So I have to find the good area in the add.php to tweak as it must act on two kind of buttons (one in the profil page, on in the member list page)