I want to create a social network of participative democracy

Hi,

I am a beginning developer and I want to create a social network of participative democracy. I have in mind what the site should look like, but I am a little bit lost as for how to begin.

I don't understand very well how elgg works, and I'd like to have some help. It would be very cool if I could meet someone personally (I live in Paris) or by skype. If someone is interested in my project, I would be glad he/she works with me.

Thank you in advance,

Adrien Fabre

• a voting plugin that prints receipts for the votes would be more advanced than the 'actual' voting system used in our *cough* democracies. lol and not lol.

• Here are the functionalities of my network :