I want to create a social network of participative democracy

Hi,

I am a beginning developer and I want to create a social network of participative democracy. I have in mind what the site should look like, but I am a little bit lost as for how to begin.

I don't understand very well how elgg works, and I'd like to have some help. It would be very cool if I could meet someone personally (I live in Paris) or by skype. If someone is interested in my project, I would be glad he/she works with me.

Thank you in advance,

Adrien Fabre

• Not sure if Elgg is the best choice for that.

There isn't a particulary well integrated wiki for Elgg, so working on a constitution or thosething like that will be difficult and I also *think* that it doesn't scale very well beyond a few thousand users (and there isn't a multi-server setup as far as I know).

Without having had a closer look at it, but maybe setting up a pod for the diaspora network would be a better idea?

• Thank you for your advice !

I'll have a look on diaspora. But in any case, if i choose elgg, I'll have to work hard to create many plugins in order to have the network i want : I'll have to create a wiki, for example.

But the scale argument remains. Could you precise what structure I should choose for my server in such a network (i'm really a beginning developer, i didn't know that there was problems of scale with the servers).

• Well, i think diaspora* is not flexible as i want, it is not a framework. So elgg is a better solution. Maybe the best solution is to create my network from scratch (?)