Integrate Elgg into an existing PHP application

Hi,
I am new to Elgg. I am trying to integrate Elgg into my existing PHP application. Both application(Elgg and existing app) will be hosted in the same server under same root folder. I am planning to use existing application as master and Elgg as slave. User validation and registration will be done through existing app as it is being done now. A link will be provided for Elgg in the menu of existing app. I am looking for best possible ways to:

1. open Elgg app from existing app via link. I wrote a new login plugin to unregister current login action and use new login event to read username from session variable saved by existing app. But Elgg is not recognizing the session value stored by existing app. Don't know what is the problem. I guess, I have use same session for both app. Is there any easy way to access session used by Elgg from existing app and set values to be used by new login event?

2. load user into Elgg database from external app when new user account is created(currently I am loading users onto Elgg database manually using the upload_user plugin)
Hope someone please help me. Thank you.

• If you load the elgg engine into your external application, you can use all the Elgg API's inside your external application. This way you can auto login the user into elgg, create new elgg account when the user registers etc..

• Webgalli - thanks for prompt response. How do I load elgg engine into my external application?

• require_once("path/to/elgg/engine/start.php");

• Thank you Webgalli. Will try your suggestion today.

• By adding elgg engine into my external application, I am able to sucessfully call Elgg functions. But when I call Elgg functions, it is killing external application's session values. Not sure why calling Elgg functions is killing my external app's session. Do I have to use same seesion_name between external app and Elgg?